WTO ANALYTICAL INDEX

Licensing Agreement – Article 1 (Practice)

1 ARTICLE 1......1

WTO ANALYTICAL INDEX

Licensing Agreement – Article 1 (Practice)

6. Application procedures and, where applicable, renewal procedures shall be as simple as possible. Applicants shall be allowed a reasonable period for the submission of licence applications. Where there is a closing date, this period should be at least 21 days with provision for extension in circumstances where insufficient applications have been received within this period. Applicants shall have to approach only one administrative body in

WTO ANALYTICAL INDEX

Licensing Agreement – Article 1 (Practice)

From 30 October 2010 to 14 October 2011, 14 notifications were received from the following 12 Members: Angola; Argentina; the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; India; Kuwait; Lesotho; Malaysia; Morocco; Togo; Tonga; Turkey; and the United States. Of these, four Members – Angola, Lesotho, Malaysia and Tonga – had submitted notifications for the first time under Article 1.4(a) and 8.2(b) of the Agreement.⁶ During the period 15 October 2011 to 29 October 2012, 16 notifications were made by the following 14 Members: Albania; the European Union; Georgia; Israel; Liechtenstein; Macao, China; Malawi; Morocco; Nicaragua; the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu; Switzerland; Trinidad and Tobago; Turkey; and Viet Nam – this being the first time such a notification was submitted by Vietnam.⁷ During the period 30 October 2012 to 4 October 2013, 16 Members made 22 notifications. These Members were: Colombia; Ecuador; the European Union; Gabon; Malaysia; Moldova; Morocco; Peru; the Philippines; the Russian Federation; Saint Lucia; the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu; Togo; Ukraine; the United States; and Viet Nam.⁸ From 5 October 2013 to 20 October 2014, 25 notifications were submitted by 18 Members: Cameroon; Ecuador; Israel; Kyrgyz Republic; Lao PDR; Madagascar; Mexico; Morocco; Paraguay; Peru; Philippines; the Russian Federation; Samoa; the Separate Customs Territory of Taiwan, Penghu, Kinmen and Matsu; Sri Lanka; Trinidad and Tobago; Turkey; and Ukraine.⁹