



WTO Director-General Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Minister Wang of China, Minister Kampard of Chad, Ministers and Excellencies, Distinguished guests, Ladies and gentlemen,

It is my great pleasure to participate in the High-Level opening session of the 10<sup>th</sup> China Round Table.

At the outset, let me thank the Government of China for its dedicated and consistent support provided to LDCs, especially acceding LDCs, through the China Programme. First as acceding LDC, and then as LDC Member, Liberia has been a beneficiary of the support provided under the programme –

accession - Afghanistan, Comoros, Liberia, Sao Tomé and Principe, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Timor-Leste and Yemen. Having suffered from civil wars or various types of conflicts, we feel strongly that trade and economic integration provides a better chance to overcome our fragility and help in our transition to stability, and maintain peace. engagement and institutional partnerships; (ii) public dialogue and outreach activities; iii) research; and (iv) capacity building and training.

The Group looks forward to positive consideration on our proposal by WTO Ministers at MC12, whenever it is convened this year. We believe that such action would send a strong signal to the world that the multilateral trading system is indeed inclusive and sensitive to the needs of the most vulnerable members of the international community. The Group would also like to request the Government of China to extend its support to the Group's efforts, including through the expansion of activities under the China Programme, as six of the eight remaining acceding LDCs are classified as FCS by the World Bank<sup>1</sup>, in addition to the recently acceded LDCs including Afghanistan and Yemen.

With these short remarks, I would like to end my intervention by reiterating the full support of the g7 + WTO Accessions Group to advance the remaining accessions, especially of those FCS, and the Trade for Peace agenda in the WTO.

Thank you and I wish you successful deliberations!

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Comoros, Ethiopia, Sao Tome & Principe, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan and Timor-Leste.